EMCC Lions send 15 football players to the four-year level

EMCC Lions send 15 football players to the four-year level

SCOOBA – Three former East Mississippi Community College football players signed National Letters of Intent during Wednesday's National Signing Day to give the Lions a total of 15 players from their 2019 football team who have inked with four-year schools.­

On Wednesday, 2019 NJCAA All-Region 23 kicker/punter Josh Smith signed with Mississippi College after ranking 12th among the NJCAA's kicking leaders with 66 points on 8-of-10 field goal attempts and 42-of-46 point-after-touchdown tries this past season­.  The Tupelo product is currently a sophomore outfielder/pitcher on Coach Brett Kimbrel's EMCC baseball team.   

Additionally, former EMCC defensive linemen Maurice White (Detroit, MI) and Dante' Carter (New Orleans, LA) signed with the University of Memphis and Prairie View A&M, respectively, on Wednesday.

The trio joins a dozen former EMCC Lions who previously signed National Letters of Intent during December's early signing period: Jason Brownlee (Southern Miss); Brett Burton (North Alabama); Terence Cherry (Southern Miss); Julius Coates (Arkansas); Rashad Eades (North Alabama); Pervis Frazier (Southeast Missouri State); Shavoke' "PJ" Herrington (Northwestern State [LA]); Fred Hervey (Arkansas State); Deuntra Hyman (Lane College); Da'Vontae McCrae (North Texas); Austin Todd (Southern Miss); and Baylee Trusty (Nicholls State).  





JASON BROWNLEE (6-3, 190, WR, West Point [MS] HS) – Southern Miss

BRETT BURTON (6-1, 215, LS, Ocean Springs [MS] HS) – North Alabama

*DANTE' CARTER – (6-0, 315, DL, New Orleans, LA/St. Augustine HS) – Prairie View A&M

TERENCE CHERRY (6-2, 250, DL, West Point [MS] HS) – Southern Miss

JULIUS COATES (6-7, 275, DL, Rockford, IL/Guilford HS/Ellsworth [Iowa] CC) -- Arkansas

RASHAD EADES (6-1, 185, WR, Macon, MS/Noxubee County HS) – North Alabama

PERVIS FRAZIER (6-0, 190, WR, Louisville [MS] HS) – Southeast Missouri State

SHAVOKE' "PJ" HERRINGTON (5-10, 185, DB, Natchez [MS] HS) – Northwestern State (La.)

FRED HERVEY (5-11, 215, LB, Charleston [MS] HS) – Arkansas State

DEUNTRA HYMAN (6-3, 255, DL, Meridian [MS] HS) – Lane College

DA'VONTAE McCRAE (6-6, 255, DL, Miami, FL/Northwestern HS) – North Texas

*JOSH SMITH (5-11, 170, K/P, Tupelo [MS] HS) – Mississippi College

AUSTIN TODD (6-5, 310, DL, Oak Grove [MS] HS) – Southern Miss

BAYLEE TRUSTY (6-3, 285, OL, Grenada [MS] HS) – Nicholls State

*MAURICE WHITE (6-5, 290, DL, Detroit, MI/Martin Luther King Jr. HS) – Memphis




**Note – Those players in bold italics signed during Wednesday's National Signing Day (Feb. 5, 2020).  The other players signed previously during December's early signing period.