Pearl River’s Jaeden Ridgeway signs with DII National Champion

photo:  PRCC Athletics
photo: PRCC Athletics

POPLARVILLE, Miss. — Pearl River sophomore Jaeden Ridgeway (Pascagoula) has found a home at the next level.

After returning to PRCC for his sophomore season in 2019, Ridgeway signed with Division II National Champion West Florida. 

Ridgeway joins seven other Wildcats who signed with four-year schools during the early signing period.

"What set West Florida apart from everyone else was their closeness to home and incredible football program," Ridgeway said. "The coaches are good Christian men who I think I can learn a lot from. 

"Also, just as a bonus, they have some of the best beaches in Florida."

The 6-foot-3, 255-pound defensive lineman recorded 16 total tackles with one sack, two tackles-for-loss and one forced fumble as a freshman in 2018. This season, Ridgway made 11 tackles with one TFL and a pass breakup.

"My time at Pearl River was honestly the best two years of my life; I say this all the time that if I could stay here four years I would," Ridgeway said. "This place has taught me so many lessons and will be missed tremendously. 

"There are so many people here that have become family. This is truly a special place."

The Argonauts are coming off of a remarkable 13-2 year where they defeated Minnesota State 48-40 to win the D-II National Championship.


Fellow defensive lineman Radonte Womack (Prentiss; Jefferson Davis) made his long-time commitment official Wednesday, signing with Bethune-Cookman.

As a freshman in 2018, Womack made eight tackles with three TFLs and half a sack. He greatly improved his numbers as a sophomore, recording 27 total tackles with five sacks and six TFLs.


The seven Wildcats who signed in December include This year's bounce-out signees are D'ezekius Chapman (Lake), Corbin Lewis (Jayees; Lawrence County), Darrell Luter Jr. (Hattiesburg; Oak Grove), Terrance "Tank" Monroe (Petal), Darrell Sims Jr. (Bassfield; Jefferson Davis), Sirvares Snow (Newton) and Jaylan Wilson (Bay St. Louis; Bay). Both Chapman and Luter signed with South Alabama; Sims signed with North Alabama; Monroe and Lewis are headed to West Alabama; and both Snow and Wilson will transfer to Delta State. 


The Wildcats will host tryouts inside Dobie Holden Stadium at 3 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 20. 

Registration is $20. Participants are asked to bring cleats, an updated physical and to fill out a waiver, which is located on

For the latest on Pearl River Community College athletics, follow us on Twitter (@PRCCAthletics) and Facebook (PRCCAthletics).



Patrick Ochs

Pearl River Community College

Director of Marketing & Communications